Ethiopian Red Curry Chickpeas

One day Zuri got tired of curry chickpeas so I just stopped making chickpeas. But I missed them. They’re so versatile, delicious, and nutritious (gosh I sound like an ad). On a quest to make sure we get enough protein, I was determined to get back to cooking chickpeas. I tried coconut curry…nope still not interested. I tried Moroccan chickpea tagine…nope still has turmeric. After that last try I was put on a ban. Two weeks into the ban I decided to test the waters again. I was planning on making a salad when I was informed that a salad would be way too light for dinner on a gym day. Especially a gym day where a certain someone ended up tapping out on the mats when his blood sugar got low (but that’s another post). I quickly agreed and decided to turn it into a stew of sorts. The result- ban lifted! What I love about this is that the flavours are mild and warm. It’s also more tomato based so it tastes completely different from regular turmeric based curry.

 

Ingredients

 

2 cups cooked chickpeas (cook until really soft)

2tomatoes

2 carrots

1 small onion

1 orange mini sweet pepper

1 yellow mini sweet pepper

1 red mini sweet pepper

1/2 tsp salt (to taste)

1 tsp Berbere

1 tsp oregano

1 tbs tomato paste

1 tsp sugar

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs hot water

 

Directions

 

Chop the onions, sweet peppers, and tomatoes into small cubes. Mix the tomato paste with the dark brown sugar and a little hot water and set aside.

Add the oil to a large saucepan. When hot add the onions and sauté. When softened, add the sweet peppers stirring frequently. Then add the tomatoes and carrots.

When the veggies have softened add the chickpeas and stir to incorporate well. Cover and let simmer for a few minutes.

Add the berbere, oregano, salt, and the tomato paste mixture. Stir and incorporate well. Adjust flavors to taste.

Serve hot. Pairs well with rice, quinoa, or mashed potatoes.

Leave a comment